About Me!

Paige Roberts
Paige Roberts

People are asking me all the time about ME, and my story. My story is not unique, and there are a lot of parents who have gone through an ordeal with child protective services when they have confiscated their children. My son was born  premature, weighing 2 pounds and 6 oz. I don’t really know how to begin as heart wrenching as it is I think everyone should know just how cruel these people can be.  I would also like to say that if I had known then what I know now it wouldn’t have happened and I think I can say this for everyone who views this about me page.

Anyway, after my son was born he had a VSD Ventricular Septal Defect = (a hole in his heart) and after him staying for nearly a month at Athens Regional Medical Center (Athens GA) we decided to send my son to Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta @ Egleston.  THIS is where my nightmare with Child Protective Services begins.

Once we were settled in here at this hospital, My worst fears came true.  A NIGHTMARE, as many of you parents may have had the same thing happen to you.  I had been spending the night and staying with my son just like any mother would do.  FIRST things first though before I go ahead – my son was to have surgery for them to repair the hole in his heart.  I had gone home for the night to get a change in clothes etc etc etc and thought he would be okay.  They (doctors, and nurses) said they would contact me when he was ready and prepped for surgery the next morning.  Well, they did contact me but not until he had been in surgery for nearly an hour!  and it takes me that long just to get to Egleston.   He was in surgery for nearly three hours and after they were through with surgery didn’t come and get me for another 2 hours almost.  So you can imagine the worry that I had engulfed while waiting and not knowing if my son was okay or not.  They finally came and got me and I was able to go back to NICU to be there with him.  My poor son all strapped down with tubes and wires but he was stable THANK GOD!!  When you have a child that sick every second is a

The next few weeks will be painful, and I don’t want to be saying painful for me but it was; and not being able to be with him through the whole time.  A couple of weeks into our stay and once he was out of NICU I had woke up one morning went down to get some breakfast and brought it back to the room.  Well, you would think I had killed someone cause this is the  way the treated me.  I came in my sons room with about 5 nurses in his room hovering around him.  I asked them was everything okay and was he okay and I kept on and on and on and no one would speak to me they acted like I wasn’t even there.  Then one of the nurses came in and told me “that the way I left my son was horrible”?????  I had no dea what she was talking about.   Then finally, she proceeded to tell me that I left him in his crib bed, with the feeding tube hooked up wrong etc etc.  I still didn’t know what she was talking about.  She said it was turned upside down wrong and could have poked an eyeball out, and said that I had left his baby bed rail down on his crib???  I had no idea what she was talking about.  THEN and mind you at the time I never knew that CPS/hospitals etc etc was like this.  I kept telling them that no that his feeding tube was empty when I left and the baby bed rail was UP.  I made sure of it but they kept telling me and accusing me that no “I DID DO THIS”.    For the next couple of weeks, we were treated like criminals and it was hard to get back to NICU to see my son.  During all of this mayhem the nurse tells me that I need to contact DFACS in my own county and you being distraught and not know what is going on you do that.

I felt horrible, not only for myself but for my son and the fact that they were blaming me for such a thing that I had not done.  I had also went and talked to the head doctor , or administrator at the hospital and I didn’t understand anything that she said because anytime I would ask anything she said I would have to wait until a full investigation?  and I was like WHAT INVESTIGATION??? They still wouldn’t tell me.  I still wasn’t able to go back to NICU and see my son, so what anyone else would have probably done, I went home.  In the mean time, they got us booked at the Ronald McDonald House for a month and was going back and forth to see him until they made it hard for me to be there, I just went home not to see my son again.  When you are backed up against the wall like this with no say so, you have no idea and you don’t have a clear head as to which way you should go.  But after a while when everything sunk in and I went and talked to an attorney (AFTER THE CPS WORKER CAME TO MY HOUSE) it all made perfect since.

Months after this, my son goes into foster care with fosters through the hospital and we go through months of hoops in a case plan with dfacs.  The short version, until my rights were terminated in 2006.  The purpose of his removal, they say was medical neglect.  HOWEVER, the day of termination of parental rights they said they wasn’t going to charge me.  My son was adopted out in 2007 was the hardest thing I’ve ever endured in my life.  I know now why they say that TPR is equivalent to the death penalty – and all of this makes perfect sense to me.

The last time I see my son, I promise my son that I would never give up fighting for him!, and I haven’t and this is the main reason that I have continued to fight for other parents who were wronged by this system.  We must keep fighting and never give up.   No parent should have to go through a nightmare like I did.

About gacoalition4childprotectionreform1

For the past 10 years I have been researching family law, constitutional law dealing with deprivation and DFCS/CPS. While I am not a lawyer, I am a special family rights law Advocate; advocating families who have been disrupted by the department of family and children services.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to About Me!

  1. Nellie says:

    I can only imagine,I do not think I personally could have gone through something like that! The “system” is only that bad in England and the United States,we operate on a totally different basis all together,when a child is taken away from his/her parents then that child’s life was in danger!! Also children will be given to the father ONLY in the most severe cases(mother died,mother left,mother does not want said child,etc etc.)I can not even pretend to know the pain and anguish you had to go through ESPECIALLY not knowing what is happening! Oh my God I would have gone insane to say the least!!

    Like

    • gacoalition4childprotectionreform1 says:

      This is why I help parents Nellie. However, sometimes it is in the best interest of the child to be with someone else. I never got the chance to bring my son home with me. He was born, and never came home to live with . A lot of things that CPS does is uncalled for. ❤ It breaks my heart to hear horror stories of parents who are caught up in this web.

      Like

Leave a Reply

