Question & Answers about your parental rights

First, I am not an attorney.
This is the first and foremost thing that family rights advocates and activists will tell you is to know your rights when it comes to Child Protective Services.

What rights does DFCS have on investigating my children?

This comes into play when a mandated reporter or this could be any individual contacts dfacs and reports a child is being abused or neglected.  HOWEVER, I am going to tell you a little more than that.

When parent(s) contact me I go through a series of steps to get you started in protecting what is yours, (family).  Through Georgia Coalition for Child Protection Reform, we give you protection – protection for your family.

 

About gacoalition4childprotectionreform1

For the past 10 years I have been researching family law, constitutional law dealing with deprivation and DFCS/CPS. While I am not a lawyer, I am a special family rights law Advocate; advocating families who have been disrupted by the department of family and children services.
This entry was posted in Family Rights and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Question & Answers about your parental rights

  1. Opal Monkfield says:

    I need help CPS came into my home and took my kids Iit is cleann and i have pictures for proof that its clean as well as a cleaning list and have a family preservation program in my home for three days a week three hours every day they said roaches were a problem we have boric acid down and have been regularly spraying they said my kids couldn’t be around my dad so my dad doesn’t come around at all but even though i have complied with everything and did everything asked they came in today and took them I could use any information that could help me fight them and get them back ASAP

    Like

  2. gacoalition4childprotectionreform1 says:

    Miss Opal, can you please send me an email at paigeroberts68@gmail.com and put DFCS in the subject line

    Like

  3. Jeremy Griffith says:

    My child was taken and put into the system again in November of 2014. There never should have been an open case but a worker never did her job and closed it. The fact is they took them on heresay, had no rights to, wouldnt let my parents have him, and pushed us through the system because we wouldn’t let them push us around and tell us what to do. So they put him in a foster home and after over a year of court BS they said he was too “well adjusted” to be given back to family. Now they are trying to start the process of taking our parental rights. What they have down is unconstitutional and violated due process as well, considering I had no legal representation at my last 3 court appearances where they took my visitation and my phone priveledges, essentially separating us from our son. They tricked my parents into thinking they would get custody of they cut is out of their life. I even moved away to make sure this would happen and it DID NOT! The amount of power KY DCBS has is nearly absolute and I want to bring them down for breaking up families instead of reuniting them as they say they want to do. They kidnapped my son from not only my wife and I but our entire family. This case is urgent and needs a fresh set of eyes and a new venue out of eastern KY in Order for something to happen.
    Please please help us. I cannot live without my boy!!

    Jeremy Griffith

    Like

    • gacoalition4childprotectionreform1 says:

      What county are you in Jeremy? When are they planning on terminating parental rights. Do you have an attorney. Send me an email at paigeroberts68@gmail.com.

      Like

      • gacoalition4childprotectionreform1 says:

        I got your email Jeremy! The first things I usually ask of parents is to draft the declaration and to do a timeline. The link below is a template of the declaration and is pretty standard and easy to follow.
        http://defend-yourself-go-pro-se.blogspot.com/2013/11/how-to-write-declaration-of-facts-to.html
        The timeline includes things that has happened in your case like what hearings and documents and motions/petitions that have been filed in your case. I would also like to know if you have any of your court file with you. Especially the very first document/petition/motion the “removal order”. Please go and send me a copy of the removal order if you have it.

        Like

  4. Stephanie says:

    I have been fighting the system for 2 years now. November of 2014 they came and took my kids. Placed them in foster care. I have done everything they have asked of me. Never failed a drug test. Not urine not the hair sample. Completed all they have asked. All I have had to do was get housing. I have filed for HUD 3 times now. The first 2 times I needed paperwork from them to prove that the kids would be returned after I got my HUD. Well the two times I have tried the state wouldn’t give HUD the paperwork. They wouldn’t return my calls nothing. There is a list load more of things that seem odd to me. I am a good mom I work 2 jobs. All of this caused my husband and I to split so I have been on my own basically. I don’t know what to do. They are about to take permanent custody and I am so lost.

    Like

  5. Erica says:

    My family and I have had CPS involvement for the last 7 months over a domestic despite between me and my husband. We have gone through 2 social work sees in this time, both of which we had little to no contact with after their initial visits. We signed a prevtion plan stating terms we were to follow and/or complete, which we have complied and done and continue to do. Both SW’s had reviewed our case with their supervisors and gained permission to close our case, once in November of last year, then in January of this year and had gone through the process of receiving all the information they needed to do so. Our first SW quit the month of November before she got a chance to do our after-care plan, therefore the case was transferred to our current SW which at our last home visit with her, had told us she would be drafting an after-care plan for us, and when she came for our monthly home visit in Feb. would go over it with us and close our case out. She had also mentioned that she would be leaving her dept and moving in March. We have not had any communication from her or anyone else from CPS since the visit in January. I have left voicemail after voicemail for her. Left messages for her supervisor and with the receiptionist and have not received any contact whatsoever from anyone. We have participated voluntarily to weekly random drug screens through this process at a third party facility that was dictated by CPS, and since we are only on a provention plan, and not court ordered to comply, we have had to and still continue to pay $20 for every drug screen we complete. And that is another thing that is bothering me, supposedly every CPS worker provides an updated list from their case load of people who are to be randomly called in for drug screens wether it be weekly, bi-weekly, monthly, etc. I am not sure how often each workers lists are updated, but I am still getting called in to screen each week. I must add as well that I have never failed drug test since our case was opened. I also feel compelled to mention that we are a well to do family, live beyond the standard norm of most in our area, We go beyond meeting the basic needs of our children and it’s is clear to see that they are very much loved and spoiled beyond measure. We have a strong family support system, our oldest, who is 7 and the only one out of the 3 that attends school has had perfect attendance since school started in august, is thriving in all aspects of his curriculum, and just received a “Terrific Kid” award this week for outstanding leadership, kindness to others, workmanship, and attendance. There was never a concern for abuse or neglect to the children when our case was opened. it was opened for personal reasons by the investigating SW bc upon initial contact with her, i refused to allow her in my home without making an appointment to do so or conduct any kind of investigation of me or the children unless both myself and my husband were present and not until we had consulted with our attorney, this sparked a very unfriendly encounter with her and threats of police and court involvement. Once we did allow her in, she refused to state the reason for her visit, (even tho we already knew the reason for her visit was bc of the dispute called into the police a few days prior to that. All domestic disputes reported in our county where couples with children, regardless if they were present at the time or not or had knowledge of the alleged dispute or not automatically get sent to DCBS for follow up) forced us not to sign or comply with any plan she was trying set forth. After the 45 day investigation period ended we received a notice that DCBS was opening a case on us upon refusal to particate in a prevention plan implemented by the investigating SW and basic neglect. They set up an appointment date for my husband and I to come in and meet with the SW who would be overseeing our case. Once there, they basically gave us 2 choices, either sign a prevention plan, and comply to the terms listed by CPS, don’t sign, then they were going to take our children away. Out of sheer fear for our kids, we signed the plan. this involved monitoring from CPS, monthly home visits and/or contact via phone, and compliance of terms provided by their dept. we have received little to no contact for long periods of time from them. Our first SW made 1 home visit the 4 months she was in charge of our case, I would check in a few times a month by leaving voicemails for her, and never heard back from her. She quit without informing us. I only found out after numerous attempts To contact her supervisor, he finally called me and informed me that she had quit, and that our case was being transfered to another SW. The voicemail I had left prior to him making contact with me stated that I felt the lack of communication and participation from his dept was hindering the progression of my case and if they felt that our situation did not need their supervision or any resources they may provide, then I demanded that I receive a formal letter stating the closing of my case. It must have touched a nerve bc the return call came hours after I had left that message. And it’s was immediately followed by the SW taking the case over. My first conversation with her was brief but she did say that the recommendation for closure had been noted in our file, and that she would finish out the process of getting that done. That was early December. There was no more contact with her until until the end of January where she informed us that she saw no need for the case to stay open, she had already reviewed it with her supervisor and was given permission to close it, she would draft an after-care plan and bring it for us to sign when she did her home visit the following month, which has come and gone with no contact via phone, text, email, mail, face to face….nothing! And we are now almost at the end of March and still nothing! What should I make of all of this?

    Like

Leave a Reply

